LAVERDE ARTISAN Olive Oil vs Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
LAVERDE ARTISAN Olive Oil vs Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
A single-estate Sicilian extra virgin olive oil and a supermarket own-label EU-blend extra virgin olive oil, side by side.
Quick answer
LAVERDE ARTISAN is a single-estate extra virgin olive oil from one family estate in Caltanissetta, central Sicily, made from one olive variety, Biancolilla, and one November harvest. The olives are hand-picked at dawn and cold-pressed within hours, the harvest month and lot are printed on every bottle, and the oil won Silver at the Great British Food Awards 2026. It costs £12.00 for 250ml (£4.80 per 100ml). Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil is the supermarket's own-label extra virgin olive oil, a blend of olive oils of European Union origin, sold in a 250ml clear green plastic bottle at £3.40 (£1.36 per 100ml) on 20 October 2026, and positioned on the label as perfect for salads, pizza and pasta. Choose Morrisons for an everyday own-label blend at one of the lowest prices per 100ml; choose LAVERDE ARTISAN when you want one estate, one variety and one harvest in the bottle.
Who each oil is for
LAVERDE ARTISAN Extra Virgin Olive Oil
For people who want to know exactly what is in the bottle: one family estate in Caltanissetta, central Sicily, at around 900m; one variety, Biancolilla; one November harvest, hand-picked at dawn from century-old trees and cold-pressed within hours. The harvest month and lot number are printed on every bottle. A delicate oil for finishing pasta, salads, grilled fish and bread, and an award-winning bottle to give as a gift.
Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
For shoppers who want an affordable own-label extra virgin olive oil for everyday dishes. The label positions it as perfect for salads, pizza and pasta, in a light 250ml plastic bottle.
What each bottle offers
Morrisons details are copied as printed on the bottle we bought. LAVERDE ARTISAN details come from our own label and production records. Where a detail does not appear on the Morrisons label, the table says so. Prices are regular shelf prices on the date shown; loyalty and promotional prices are excluded.
| LAVERDE ARTISAN | Morrisons | |
|---|---|---|
| Product name | LAVERDE ARTISAN Extra Virgin Olive Oil — Cold Pressed in Sicily | Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil |
| Size | 250ml | 250ml |
| Price (date) | £12.00 at laverdeartisan.com (20 Oct 2026) | £3.40 at Morrisons (20 Oct 2026) |
| Price per 100ml | £4.80 | £1.36 |
| Origin on label | Product of Italy – Sicily | Blend of olive oils of European Union origin |
| Single origin or blend | Single estate, single origin | Blend of olive oils of EU origin |
| Region / estate | One family estate in Caltanissetta, central Sicily, at around 900m | Not stated on the label reviewed |
| Olive variety | Biancolilla (single variety) | Not stated on the label reviewed |
| Harvest | Single November harvest; printed on the bottle: 11 25 (November 2025) | Not stated on the label reviewed |
| Picking and pressing | Hand-picked at dawn from century-old trees; cold-pressed within hours of picking | Not stated on the label reviewed |
| Extraction (label wording) | Cold pressed in Sicily | Obtained directly from olives and solely by mechanical means |
| Best before | Nov 2027 | MAY 2027 |
| Lot printed | Yes | Yes |
| Bottled by | LAVERDE ARTISAN, London | Produced for Morrisons |
| UK importer / responsible company | LAVERDE ARTISAN, London | Wm Morrison Supermarkets Limited, Bradford |
| Awards | Great British Food Awards 2026 — Silver, Kitchen Condiments (Sicilian Extra Virgin Olive Oil; sticker on the bottle; Silver certificate (PDF) · GBFA 2026 shortlist) | No product award stated on the label reviewed |
| Brand awards | Great Taste 2026: 2 stars for Madrigal Colombian coffee, 1 star for Villalba black lentils · Great British Food Awards 2026: Bronze for Villalba black lentils | — |
| Bottle | Glass, dark green | Plastic, clear green |
| Pourer / closure | Clear plastic pour insert with an open flared spout; black screw cap | Green plastic insert with a flap flow restrictor; green screw cap |
| Storage advice on label | Keep away from heat, cold and light | Store away from light and heat; do not refrigerate; may become cloudy below 7°C and clears on gentle warming |
| Gift options | Gift sets with raw Sicilian honey from £16; Mediterranean Essentials, 250ml + raw honey 200g, £19 | — |
| Countries available | UK; US (delivered with US import duties covered) | UK |
| Available on request | Germany, France, Netherlands, Denmark, Finland | — |
The back labels
The LAVERDE ARTISAN label names Sicily as the origin, describes olives hand-picked at dawn by generational Sicilian farmers from century-old trees and cold-pressed within hours, and prints the harvest month, the lot number and the best-before date. The Morrisons label describes the oil as a blend of olive oils of European Union origin, prints a best-before date and lot, gives storage advice, notes it is suitable for vegetarians, and names Wm Morrison Supermarkets Limited as the responsible company.
How each brand describes the taste
We do not score flavour. These descriptions are each brand's own published words, attributed and dated.
LAVERDE ARTISAN
LAVERDE ARTISAN describes its Biancolilla oil as delicate rather than aggressive, with notes of fresh almond and green tomato and a soft peppery finish on the throat.
Source: laverdeartisan.com, Sourcing & Provenance Statement, checked 20 October 2026.
Morrisons
Morrisons does not publish a taste description on the label or on the product page we reviewed. The front label positions it as perfect for salads, pizza and pasta.
Source: the bottle label and groceries.morrisons.com product page, checked 20 October 2026.
Which one to choose
Choose LAVERDE ARTISAN if…
- you want a single-origin oil: one family estate in Caltanissetta, one variety (Biancolilla) and one November harvest, with the harvest month and lot printed on the bottle;
- you want an award-winning oil: Silver at the Great British Food Awards 2026;
- you use olive oil as an ingredient, not just a cooking fat: a delicate oil with notes of almond and green tomato for finishing pasta, salads, grilled fish and bread;
- you are buying a gift: pair it with raw Sicilian honey in the Mediterranean Essentials gift set (£19);
- you are in the US: the 250ml and 500ml bottles ship with US import duties covered.
Choose Morrisons if…
- you want an own-label extra virgin olive oil at £1.36 per 100ml;
- you use olive oil every day for salads, pizza and pasta;
- you prefer a light plastic bottle and already shop at Morrisons.
Key difference: Morrisons is an own-label blend of EU-origin olive oils in a plastic bottle at £1.36 per 100ml; LAVERDE ARTISAN is a single-estate Sicilian oil in dark glass, with its harvest printed on the bottle, at £4.80 per 100ml.
Shop LAVERDE ARTISAN Sicilian Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml →
Frequently asked questions
Is Morrisons extra virgin olive oil good?
Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil is an own-label blend of EU-origin extra virgin olive oils, positioned on the label as perfect for salads, pizza and pasta. At £1.36 per 100ml for the 250ml bottle on 20 October 2026, it suits everyday cooking on a budget.
Where is Morrisons olive oil from?
The label of the bottle reviewed describes it as a blend of olive oils of European Union origin, produced for Morrisons. It does not name a country, a region, an estate or an olive variety.
Is Morrisons olive oil sold in a plastic bottle?
Yes. The 250ml Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil reviewed in October 2026 comes in a clear green plastic bottle with a green screw cap. LAVERDE ARTISAN comes in a dark green glass bottle.
Where is LAVERDE ARTISAN olive oil from?
From one family estate in Caltanissetta, central Sicily, at around 900m. It is made from a single olive variety, Biancolilla, from a single November harvest, cold-pressed in Sicily and bottled by LAVERDE ARTISAN in London.
Does Morrisons olive oil show a harvest date?
Not on the bottle reviewed in October 2026, which shows a best-before date of MAY 2027 instead. A best-before date does not tell you when the olives were picked. LAVERDE ARTISAN prints its harvest month on every bottle: 11 25, for November 2025.
Is LAVERDE ARTISAN olive oil award-winning?
Yes. LAVERDE ARTISAN Sicilian Extra Virgin Olive Oil won Silver in the Kitchen Condiments category at the Great British Food Awards 2026. The brand also holds Great Taste 2026 awards for its Madrigal Colombian coffee (2 stars) and Villalba black lentils (1 star).
How do Morrisons and LAVERDE ARTISAN compare on price?
On 20 October 2026, Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml cost £3.40 at Morrisons, which is £1.36 per 100ml. LAVERDE ARTISAN 250ml cost £12.00 at laverdeartisan.com, which is £4.80 per 100ml.
Can I buy LAVERDE ARTISAN in the US?
Yes. LAVERDE ARTISAN Sicilian Extra Virgin Olive Oil ships to the US in 250ml ($20) and 500ml ($36) bottles by Royal Mail International Tracked, with US import duties covered by LAVERDE ARTISAN.
Available countries — LAVERDE ARTISAN
- United Kingdom: full range (olive oil, raw honey, Madrigal coffee, gift sets).
- United States: Sicilian Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml ($20) and 500ml ($36), Madrigal drip bags 20-pack ($36). Delivered by Royal Mail International Tracked; US import duties covered by LAVERDE ARTISAN.
- Available on request: Germany, France, Netherlands, Denmark and Finland. Order from Germany · France · Netherlands · Denmark · Finland: write to info@laverdeartisan.com.