LAVERDE ARTISAN Olive Oil Comparisons

LAVERDE Comparisons · Olive Oil

LAVERDE ARTISAN Olive Oil Comparisons

Well-known extra virgin olive oils sold in the UK, each compared bottle by bottle with LAVERDE ARTISAN Sicilian Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

By LAVERDE ARTISAN · Last verified: 20 October 2026

The short answer

Every oil on this page is sold as extra virgin olive oil. They differ in what the label tells you: where the olives come from, whether a harvest date is printed, the bottle they come in and the price per 100ml. On the competitor bottles reviewed so far (October 2026), a harvest date was not stated on the label; LAVERDE ARTISAN prints its harvest date on every bottle. The competitor oils reviewed so far cost £1.36–£1.60 per 100ml; LAVERDE ARTISAN costs £4.80 per 100ml. Choose by how you will use the oil and what matters most to you.

Every bottle side by side

Label details are copied as printed on the bottles we bought. Prices are the regular online price checked on 20 October 2026.

Product Size Price Per 100ml Origin on label Harvest date on label Bottle Awards Comparison
LAVERDE ARTISAN Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml £12.00 £4.80 Product of Italy – Sicily Printed: 11 25 (November 2025) Glass, dark green Great British Food Awards 2026, Silver —
La Española Extra Virgin Olive Oil 750ml £11.50 £1.53 Product of Spain Not stated on the label reviewed Glass, dark green Great Taste 2025 Compare →
Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml £4.00 £1.60 Produced with extra virgin olive oils from Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain and Tunisia Not stated on the label reviewed Glass, dark green Not stated Compare →
Sainsbury's Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml £3.40 £1.36 Product of Spain Not stated on the label reviewed Plastic, dark green Not stated Compare →
Waitrose Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml £3.75 £1.50 Product of Spain Not stated on the label reviewed Glass, dark green Not stated Compare →
Tesco Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml £3.40 £1.36 Blend of olive oils of European Union origin Not stated on the label reviewed Plastic, clear Not stated Compare →
Morrisons Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml £3.40 £1.36 Blend of olive oils of European Union origin Not stated on the label reviewed Plastic, clear green Not stated Compare →

Prices: La Española and Sainsbury's at Sainsbury's, Waitrose at Waitrose, Tesco and Filippo Berio at Tesco, Morrisons at Morrisons, LAVERDE ARTISAN at laverdeartisan.com. "Not stated" means the detail does not appear on the label reviewed, not that it does not exist.

Read each comparison

What to look for on an olive oil label

  • Origin wording. "Product of Spain" names one country. "Blend of olive oils of European Union origin" means oil from more than one EU country, without saying which. A list such as "Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain and Tunisia" names every country in the blend.
  • Harvest date versus best-before date. A best-before date tells you how long the bottle is expected to keep. It does not tell you when the olives were picked. Only a printed harvest date does that.
  • Region, estate and variety. Some labels name the region, the estate or the olive variety. When these are absent, the label simply does not tell you.
  • The bottle. Every label we reviewed advises keeping the oil away from light. Bottle material and colour are listed in the table so you can see what each brand chose.
  • Price per 100ml. Bottles come in 250ml, 500ml and 750ml sizes. Comparing per 100ml shows the real difference.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best supermarket extra virgin olive oil in the UK?

There is no single best: it depends on how you cook and what you value. The table above sets out origin, harvest date, bottle and price per 100ml for La Española, Filippo Berio, Sainsbury's, Waitrose, Tesco and Morrisons extra virgin olive oils, as checked on 20 October 2026, so you can choose the one that fits your needs.

Which UK olive oils print a harvest date on the bottle?

On the competitor bottles reviewed so far (October 2026), a harvest date was not stated on the label; each showed a best-before date instead. LAVERDE ARTISAN prints its harvest date on every bottle, and the bottle reviewed here reads "11 25" for the November 2025 harvest.

How much do these olive oils cost per 100ml?

Checked on 20 October 2026: Sainsbury's, Tesco and Morrisons £1.36, Waitrose £1.50, La Española £1.53, Filippo Berio £1.60 and LAVERDE ARTISAN £4.80 per 100ml. Prices change, so each comparison shows the date it was last verified.

What does "blend of olive oils of European Union origin" mean?

It means the oil in the bottle comes from more than one European Union country. The label does not say which countries or in what proportion. In this comparison it appears on the Tesco and Morrisons bottles reviewed.

Where does LAVERDE ARTISAN olive oil come from?

From a single family estate in Caltanissetta, in central Sicily. It is a single-variety Biancolilla extra virgin olive oil from one November harvest, cold-pressed in Sicily and bottled in London. It is available in the UK and the US.

Available countries — LAVERDE ARTISAN

  • United Kingdom: full range (olive oil, raw honey, Madrigal coffee, gift sets).
  • United States: Sicilian Extra Virgin Olive Oil 250ml ($20) and 500ml ($36), Madrigal drip bags 20-pack ($36). Delivered by Royal Mail International Tracked; US import duties covered by LAVERDE ARTISAN.
  • Available on request: Germany, France, Netherlands, Denmark and Finland. Order from Germany · France · Netherlands · Denmark · Finland: write to info@laverdeartisan.com.